HISTORY OF BPU



The idea to found the Balkan Physical Union was first devised and put in motion by Prof A.Milojevic (Yugoslavia) (and Prof. Dj. Bek-Uzarov) and Prof. I Ursu (Romania) at the VIII Congress of the Union of Yugoslav Societies of Mathematicians, Physicists and Astronomers (UYSMPA), held in Pristina (Yugoslavia) in Nov. 1985 where the proposal was accepted.



The first Balkan Physical Union Council meeting was held in Bucharest in 1987, when the Constitution of the BPU was signed by the Balkan National Physical Society delegates from Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania and Yugoslavia. Turkey's signature was accepted later.

From the archives of the Union of Physicists in Bulgaria

The foundational meeting of the representatives of the Balkan physical professional organizations in Bucharest on the 11 and 12-th of July 1986

The meeting was initiated by prof. J. Ursu and called in his invitation to the participants from the other Balkan countries "A meeting of the Executive Board of the Balkan Physical Union". On it Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Rumania and Yugoslavia were represented. Turkey could not attend, because their representatives did not get in time an approval by their higher ranking institutions, but they informed the meeting that they will in principle support all the decisions taken there.

Provisional Article

Since according to the decisions taken at the meeting in Pristins, in 1985, the representative of the Romanian National Committee for Physics is the acting President of BPU, the sequence starts with this country.

SIGNED IN BUCHAREST ON JUNE 12th 1987

For The Albanian Physical Society

Prof. Rexhep MEJOANI

Bluidan

For The Bulgarian Physical Society

Prof. Hristo TCHERNEY

For The Hellenic Physical Society

Prof. Theodore CHRISTIDIS

For The Turkish Physical Society

Prof. Betrit SKENDE

Prof. Ivan ZLATEV

For The Union of Mathematical, Physical and Astronomical Societies of Yugoslavia.

The National Committee for Physics

Prof. Viadeta UROSEVIC

Prof. Di. BEK-UZAROV

Dr. Bek Grand

Prof. Ljutfi ISTREFI

For The Romanian National Committee for Physics

Prof. Igan URSU

Prof. Ion M. POPESCU

Joan-Jovit POPESCU

Prof. Constantin PLAVITIU

Prof. Argtin CORCIOVEI

Prof. Ion DIMA

First BPU Constitution 1987, continued. Founder Delegate Signatures

The Current Members - COUNTRIES

- ALBANIA
- BULGARIA
- CYPRUS
- GREECE
- MOLDOVA
- MONTENEGRO
- NORTH MACEDONIA
- ROMANIA
- SERBIA
- TURKEY



FORMER PRESIDENTS





Ioan Ursu 1985-1989 Romania





Christos Zeferos





Gediz Akdeniz





Ivan Lalov

FORMER PRESIDENTS





Metin Arik











Alexander Petrov 2015 - 2018 Bulgaria





President of BPUProf. Goran Djordjevic Nis University, Serbia

CONFERENCES

1st BPU – Thessaloniki, Greece (1991)

2nd BPU – Izmir, Turkey (September 12-14, 1994)

<u>3rd BPU – Cluj-Napoca, Romania (September 2-5, 1997)</u>

4rd BPU – Veliko Trnovo, Bulgaria (August 22-27, 2000)

5th BPU - Vrnjacka Banja, Serbia and Montenegro (August 25-29,2003)

6th BPU - Istanbul, Turkey (August 22-26, 2006)

7th BPU – Alexandroupolis, Greece (September 9-13, 2009)

8th BPU – Constanta, Romania (July 5-7, 2012)

9th BPU - Instanbul, Turkey (August 24-27, 2015)

<u>10th BPU – Sofia, Bulgaria, (August 26-30, 2018)</u> BPU11 Congress – Belgrade, Serbia (August 28 - ... 2022)



1st Balkan Physics Olympiad BPO 2019

The competition will be organized by the Hellenic Physical Society, Greece Under the auspices of: the Balkan Physical Union (BPU), supported by: the European Physical Society (EPS) Under the aegis of: the Department of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, the Regional Central Government of Macedonia, and the Ministry of Macedonia and Thrace

JULY 14 - 18, 2019 THESSALONIKI, GREECE VENUE: AMERICAN FARM SCHOOL

https://balkanphysical.union.info

2019-BPO1 8 BALKAN - 3 GUEST COUNTRIES (37 PARTICIPANTS)

Participating Countries

MONTENEGRO ROMANIA BULGARIA CYPRUS GREECE NORTH SERBIA TURKEY MACEDONIA

















Guest countries

SLOVENIA BOSNIA AND TURKMENISTAN HERZEGOVINA







4th BALKAN PHYSICS OLYMPIAD



BPO4 Cyprus 2022

We have the pleasure to invite you to the 4th Balkan Physics Olympiad, BPO4, which will be held, online, on October 7 – 9, 2022.

It will be organized by the Cyprus Physicists Society (CPS) under the auspices of the Balkan Physical Union (BPU), supported by the European Physical Society (EPS). The competition is also supported by the Cyprus Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport and Youth and the Physics Department of the University of Cyprus.

More info: https://balkanphysicalunion.info/ Contact us: bpho.2022@gmail.com

2022-BPO4

Participating Countries



Guest countries

